Home

k7_crew

Before the tourney began I knew I could beat both Ste and Si, but then again I also knew they could just as easily beat me! Its was Bri’s first tourney so we thought x4 could be a bit heavy, so agreed with a x3 instead.

Round #1
Garry C,6,Simon K,2,
Garry C,2,Brian C,0,
Steve E,5,Garry C,2,

Maybe the theme for his evening, but Si got off to a frustrating start but this was to my benefit. Si wasn’t playing too badly and I wasn’t playing that good but my shots just went in – never a 6-2 game but it ended 6-2, if you know what I mean!?! Having only played a handful of practice games before the tourney, Bri was understandably re-familiarising himself with a game he’s not played regularly since the good old days! Even back in the day, Bri perhaps wasn’t as keen on KO2 as me and Si and he instead naturally moved on to newer games. Still, despite the 2-0 to me, I wondered if the evening could somehow re-kindle that KO2 spark ??? Next up was Koohlio who like me was unbeaten so something had to give – and that something was me! 5-2 to Steve with no complaints that the points went to the player with the superior finishing.

Round #2
Simon K,1,Garry C,3,
Brian C,0,Garry C,5,
Garry C,4,Steve E,2,

Much to Si’s annoyance, and partly to my surprise, I continued to have the upper hand against my sparring partner with a 3-1 win. Bri was taking the defeats that were coming his way in good spirits and found much amusements in the keeper behaviour that is unique to KO2! I managed to avenge my earlier defeat to Steve, partly due to Steve’s bad luck in front of goal, and partly due to my improved midfield play where I began to win more of the 50/50s. Either way I was happy to take the points and edge into a lead on the table! 8)

Round #3
Garry C,6,Simon K,2,
Garry C,3,Brian C,2,
Steve E,4,Garry C,2,

I completed my 100% for the night v Si and that score again: 6-2, another surprisingly comfortable win. Just one of those nights to write off, eh Si ? Next came the biggest scare of the night – nearly losing to my out of practice brother!!! He lead 1-0 and then 2-1 both with KOLOBs and though I wasn’t worrying at the time, goals suddenly were extremely hard to come by. Thankfully two more goals finally came my way and at 3-2 I could breath a huge sigh of relief – phew! Having said that by the final round, he’d improved massively from the opening games, and fully deserved his first KOA point against Si, which might even have been all three had Si not managed a very late equiliser.

I entered the last match of the evening with a slender 2-point advantage over Stevio. Needing only a draw, I had one fingertip on my first KOBRA crown. Nevertheless this was a big ask – Steve is one koohl customer these days. In the deciding game, he took the lead then I’d equiliser, he’d take the lead and then I’d equiliser and then after taking the lead for the third time in the early part of the second half, I had a glorious chance to make it 3-3, just a trap and move around the keeper was needed. Sadly for me, I snatched at the joystick and the chance was gone. Like a beacon leading the way, Steve later carved out two trap and move positions for himself, but the champ kept koohl under pressure to convert both chances from a similar diagonal position to take both the three points and the KOBRA VII title. Congratulations again, Steve.8) Sure I was disappointed to be so close and yet no cigar, but heck there’s no shame in losing so narrowly to Stevio and besides I’d prefer to enjoy the fact that I played a part in a grandstand tourney finish!

Really enjoyed everyone’s company, the chatting and the jokes, recalling the old times and forecasting the new (will Birmingham City survive relegation?) Thanks again to Bri for coming along – hope it won’t be your last tourney bro? One simply test of any tourney imho is after it finishes, do you still look forward to the next one ?

Whenever it may be, roll on the next tourney…

feb08-k7_table

 

Brian C,1,Steve E,3,
Garry C,6,Simon K,2,
Garry C,2,Brian C,0,
Simon K,0,Steve E,8,
Brian C,0,Simon K,7,
Steve E,5,Garry C,2,

Steve E,3,Brian C,1,
Simon K,1,Garry C,3,
Brian C,0,Garry C,5,
Steve E,5,Simon K,5,
Simon K,6,Brian C,1,
Garry C,4,Steve E,2,

Brian C,0,Steve E,2,
Garry C,6,Simon K,2,
Garry C,3,Brian C,2,
Simon K,1,Steve E,5,
Brian C,3,Simon K,3,
Steve E,4,Garry C,2,

Leave a Reply

