Home

K4

KOBRA IV was a terrific tournament and an absolute thriller for me. It went to the wire: the last seconds of the very last game before the champion was crowned!

Round#1
Garry C,5,Mandhir S,1,
Simon K,1,Garry C,4,
Garry C,5,Steve E,3,
Mandhir S,4,Garry C,8,
The tourney started very brightly for me with four straight wins, including I think, the highest scoring game of the night – I love KO2!

Round#2
Garry C,2,Simon K,3,
Steve E,7,Garry C,2,
Garry C,1,Mandhir S,1,
My bubble was promptly burst first by my long-time sparring partner, Simon K, and them emphatically by Koohlio who was sending out a signal to anyone who was listening!!! I managed to stop the rot with a draw against Sid, who derserved more from that game. I hate KO2!

Round#3
Simon K,1,Garry C,5,
Garry C,4,Steve E,0,
Mandhir S,1,Garry C,4,
Still, Kobraman hadn’t finished just yet 8) and returned to winning ways and scoring goals with a another three wins. By this stage the KOBRA IV title had become a two horse race between me and Steve. We were both hoping that Si or Sid could do us a favour by beating the other ! In fact before each match of the final round, we’d each yell out support for whoever was each other’s opponent!  I love KO2

Round#4
Garry C,4,Simon K,4,
For me this proved the decisive game. Damn Screech was the ref and damn fu*king Screech sent off both Cox and Barber of my team in the first half!!! Was the red card bug about to give me a much needed break ? Was it fu*k! Despite reverting to LOCKOUT and with holes in my formation, I somehow continued to take the game to Si and forged a 4-2 lead. I hope this would be enough but it wasn’t to be. In the last minute Si made it 3-4, and then in painful injury time, he buried the equiliser. Gutted!  With Steve’s winning ways, my draw handed Steve a two-point lead going into our do or die final game!!!!!!!!

Steve E,3,Garry C,3,
I had to win it – it was as simple as that. Think I took the lead and just maybe I could claim an unlikely Team B win ? Steve had other plans of course, and showed his mettle by taking 3-1 lead with less than two minutes remaining. Still Kobraman wanted to make a fight of it and I struck back with two late goals and although the match seemed to be swinging my way, the clock proved against me. Had I held on that lead against Si in the match before, I would have taken the KOBRA IV title on goal difference!! So close but no cigar. KO2 is a great game but it can’t half kick you in the goolies too!

Besides this was Steve’s night and with his first KOA crown, he proved worthy KOBRA IV Champion  Well played my friend – with a Goal Avg of 4+, your setting a new standard for us, and I want to rise to that challenge!!!!  It should be said that this was Sid’s comeback tourney after a 3+ month break and Si too hasn’t been playing regularly either. Even though the table gave the impression that me and Steve were running away with it, there were some mighty tight games last night where that extra practice gave us a shade extra sharpness in front of goal.

FULL RESULTS

Garry C,5,Mandhir S,1,
Simon K,3,Steve E,4,
Simon K,1,Garry C,4,
Steve E,5,Mandhir S,1,
Garry C,5,Steve E,3,
Mandhir S,4,Simon K,1,

Mandhir S,4,Garry C,8,
Steve E,6,Simon K,2,
Garry C,2,Simon K,3,
Mandhir S,3,Steve E,3,
Steve E,7,Garry C,2,
Simon K,1,Mandhir S,0,

Garry C,1,Mandhir S,1,
Simon K,3,Steve E,4,
Simon K,1,Garry C,5,
Steve E,3,Mandhir S,0,
Garry C,4,Steve E,0,
Mandhir S,1,Simon K,6,

Mandhir S,1,Garry C,4,
Steve E,4,Simon K,1,
Garry C,4,Simon K,4,
Mandhir S,4,Steve E,7,
Steve E,3,Garry C,3,
Simon K,1,Mandhir S,2,

kobraIV_table

Leave a Reply

