Home

Congratulations to MarkB!

Unfortunatetly JonG was unable to make it but Mark B had no hesitation in commanding top spot and grabbing the KOOHL 2 Title!

KOOHL2

Results
Steve E,3,Graham S,2,
Simon K,1,Garry C,3,
Simon K,1,Mark B,1,
Garry C,2,Graham S,5,
Garry C,0,Steve E,1,
Graham S,4,Mark B,5,
Graham S,6,Simon K,0,
Mark B,5,Steve E,3,
Mark B,4,Garry C,2,
Steve E,3,Simon K,0,
Graham S,3,Steve E,3,
Garry C,4,Simon K,4,
Mark B,8,Simon K,3,
Graham S,3,Garry C,5,
Steve E,3,Garry C,5,
Mark B,4,Graham S,3,
Simon K,5,Graham S,0,
Steve E,1,Mark B,2,
Garry C,2,Mark B,3,
Simon K,3,Steve E,0,

Steve E,3,Graham S,2,
…and so it came to pass… I would play Graham first, the player who is showing great promise and landed his first victory against me last time! grrrr hehe. I tried to retain an inner peace all evening and after benefiting from having plenty of sleep recently I managed to remain calm and took a 3-0 lead. I still had no hesitation in fouling Graham to knock him out of his rhythim – although why do i always forget to do this against elite players like Mark? I had a player sent off but I was still pleased with how I was playing. But then in the second half Graham was superb and was very unlucky not to get something about the game. He had some fantastic chances but I just about managed it.

Garry C,0,Steve E,1,
This was a tense, topsy turvey affair and I thought we were heading for a 0-0. Near to the end I suddenly remembered about lobs and tried a few with no success. Im unsure if Gaz realised how my gameplan suddenly changed so near to the end but seeing it was injury time I had one last effort…pulling back on the joystick I put the ball back into the mixer, except it went past the mixer and right into the net! Gaz was gutted and despite me saying I was guilty for winning i couldnt help but have the most widest smile ever! (sorry mate!)

Mark B,5,Steve E,3,
Playing Mark I tried to remain calm and although i had scraped the previous two games I was not in a negative frame of mind (KO2 wise) like I was at KOOHL 1. Still, the score of 5-3 did look a bit flattering to me cause I think Mark was winning 5-2 at one stage and the ease in which he clinically put the ball in the net was once again, breathtaking. Take a bow son!

Steve E,3,Simon K,0,
Although I lost against Mark I was pleased to score three and in this game I went into it high in confidence. We probably shouldnt have played it as early as we did but we couldnt resist continuing the KOBRA friendly rivalry. To be fair, Simon stuggeled to get into this and I seemed to make the most of my chances. In Kick Off as im sure you’v all experienced, when results are not going your way you feel as if anything you do isnt going to work – so I duly took advantage of this and won the game! :twisted:

Graham S,3,Steve E,3,
By now Graham was in full swing and I thought he was going to finish quite high – which was further empathised when he took a 2-0 lead. However this was an evening where i was going to channel my adversity from KOOHL 1 into my greatest strength in KOOHL 2 – keeping my (k)coohl. Despite being 2-0 down I knew i just had to stick at it and couldnt believe it when I went 3-2 up! and yet Graham did had a mountain of chances to bury me! At 3-3 and with the ref drawing the whistle upto his lips, Graham was once again clean through – my leaning to winning the game about to cost me – but before he could round the keeper and slot into the empty net, the whistle was blown.

Steve E,3,Garry C,5,
Prior to this game I witnessed a glimpse into the future of Gaz’s KO2 powers. Like an apprentice getting a glimpse of his Jedi Knight powers mid training, Gaz had such mastery of the force *cough* erm I mean Ball, in the dying embers of his game with Graham he travelled with the ball down the wing, initially it seemed as if he was wasting time. He ran a little, stopped, ran a little more, did a little jink, rounded another player before scoring such a fantastic goal. Honestly, this wouldnt have looked out of place in one of Gianluca’s goal complitations.
So armed with a surge in his Kick Off midicholirians Gaz got to work again in this game and for the first half he was simply unstoppable! But I managed to claw my way back to 2-2 before Gaz went ahead. Once again though he raised his game and won the game 5-3. Great performance!

Steve E,1,Mark B,2,
Couldnt believe this! I was lost for words. Im hoping that the more tournaments I host on a Wednesday, it means that I get to play a fantastic player such as Mark more often. Even during the peak of my (admittedly low) powers at KORA, Mark brought me crashing back down to earth by scoring with ease and so it has came to pass, he always seems to beat me into oblivion! So when I was 1-0 up at half time I thought “this might be it!” but then Mark got back into the game from his Kick Off with a well placed ariel shot – dinking past my three midfielders with ease and slotting it into the net. The second goal was a comedy of errors, the ball just seemed to crawl into my net! Mark was off form a little and had chances to win more comfortably but only losing 2-1 was a definete confidence boost going into my last game…

Simon K,3,Steve E,0,
…so why the hell did i lose 3-0?!?! The circle was complete on this evening and with Graham needing me to win to ensure he didnt finish bottom, once again the last game at KOOHL would be a nerve jangling affair for some. I was quite pleased with my first half performance but the ball just wouldnt go in the net. As it was with our first game for Simon, I thought i did everything right but couldnt score yet Simon took his chances. By the second half I still tried but now i couldnt really get into the game and Simon sealed the game 3-0 and climbed off bottom spot.

In all it was a better tournament for me than KOOHL 1 because I just said to people if you want a drink or whatever..do it yourself! lol, im concentrating on Kick Off hehe.
Cheers for making me a drink Graham, much appreciated! Iv gotta apologise for ordering the second free pizza with all those evil slices of whatever on. I hang my head in shame (next time we’l try the chippy or chinese if you want hehe)

Also thanks for coming folks and making it an event…a gathering even! :P

For me now, the eyes are on the long and winding road to…. THE UK CHAMPIONSHIPS!!!

3 thoughts on “rewind – koohl 02

  1. “That final table makes it look extremely comfortable for me, in fact I could have stopped playing after round 1 and potentially won it on goal difference! However, the reality is that it was far from comfortable.

    My first game had me dropping my only points and it was probably the worst played game of the entire night by both of us. Simon and myself were both rubbish and both lucky to get 1. The second match was a little different and I won it 8-3 but this was definately flattering. If anything could go wrong for Simon it did. One of my goals came from him running back to the keeper, stopping to let the ball roll slowly to him and the keeper fumbling it. I’ve never seen such a soft own goal.

    My first match with Graham was a 5-4 win and it was a last gasp winner from a corner. My first 4 goals were all kick off lobs! The second match was 4-3 and at least I scored some proper goals in this one.

    My next two matches with Steve and Garry were each won by margins of 2 goals but again I felt like I was struggling to score. The second time round I only beat them by 1 goal each, so while I got the victories they were hardly crushing blows.

    So overall it was a big win but definately much closer than the final table suggests. Graham is definately making progress and being the second highest scorer is definately something he can take comfort in. If he can work on his defence a bit, he’ll be finishing higher up in no time. I can’t believe that he managed a -1 goal difference and still came last. But having said that, there were only 3 points between 2nd and 5th, so it was amazingly close. It’s great to see these guys all battling at about the same level and I’m sure with regular play they will all start to show rapid improvement.

    Thanks for hosting Steve, I had a great time.
    ” – Mark B

  2. KOOHL 2 was always going to be interesting. MarK B was the clear favourite, and then there was the KOBRA triplets Si, Steve and me, and we were still learning about Graham S, who I knew was dangerous from KOOHL 1 !

    V Simon K

    Fortunately for me, Si’s developed a habit of starting slowly and I eased to a 3-1 opening victory. I thought I was on for the double leading 4-2 in the last minute but it wasn’t to be. Si made it 4-3 from the KO (but not a lob!) and then literally with the last kick of the game, he made it 4-4 and the whistle blew with his fans still cheering! STEAL!

    V Graham

    Unlike Si, Gra was quick out of the blocks and stormed into a early 2-0 lead with a painful brace of ‘garry’ goals, as they’re coming to be known! The classic through the post diagonal goal and then the back off the woodwork “goal”!!!! Flukes aside Gra went on to score some very decent goals and won a deserved 5-2. With revenge on my mind I comfortably took the rematch 5-3, including a highlight for me: playing cat and mouse with trap and move, all the way down his left wing (partly to run down the remaining injury time) I continued to jinx my way into the box and score a narrow angle goal! Never done that before!!!

    V Steve

    Next up for me was Steve. I was playing well creating many good chances but some reason they weren’t going in. It was almost going too well for me but you just knew it could be one of those games. After some last ditch defending, and on a rare attack he lobbed into a lead with only seconds to go. 0-1 OUCH – STEAL OF THE CENTURY!!! And a good lesson for me! Again, I had a score to settle in our rematch and I had two purple patches in that game, scoring in quick succession and gratefully I took the three points, 5-3.

    V Mark B

    I enjoy pitting my wits against Mark’s superior finishing and although I lost games, 2-4 and 2-3, I took the lead in both games and like to think I at least stretched him. Well played to Mark for taking the night’s crown despite admitting his standard of scoring was below par.

    Although there was only 3 points between 5th and 2nd, I was delighted to sneak the silver medal! Nice one Steve for again hosting an extremely enjoyable tourney and for putting us all “in the mixer” hehe! – Garry C

  3. “Right My opinions!!

    Steve E,3,Graham S,2,
    started slowly and steve was obviously after revenge from last time ! he went 3 up and i manged to pull it back after changing to 433, but couldnt convert a couple of sitters and he deserved the win overall.

    Garry C,2,Graham S,5,
    I was looking forward to this one as last time i played garry i thought i was unlucky! I actually had the luckiest first half of the tournement and was lucky to be still in the game but as garry said after a couple of flukes and 3 goals I still didnt think i was playing that well!

    Graham S,4,Mark B,5,
    well well this was another game were i need to sort out defending lobs,after all of my 4 goals mark scored a lob! but the last goal was just poor defending.

    Graham S,6,Simon K,0,
    I actually think this was coming, I hadnt beat anyone convincingly but in his defence everything simon did in this game just wouldnt go in, and his keeper let a couple of howlers in! although I had 2 sitters at the end I should of scored to!

    Graham S,3,Steve E,3,
    went 2 nil up playing the best id played all night , but second half i think my joystick had fell out! went 3-2 down but managed a last gasp equaliser but still had time to hit the post a couple of times near the end!

    Graham S,3,Garry C,5,
    well, I dont like talking about my losses but fairplay to garry he was miles better than me on this match, and showed off my poor defending!

    Mark B,4,Graham S,3,
    tighter than the game actually was again losing out to a couple of lobs but was more down my cack defending! Mark, I will beat you eventually ! if its the last thing i do!!

    Simon K,5,Graham S,0,
    well I imagine simon can say the same as i did from the other game! hes right when he says he needs 6 games to warm up!

    enjoyed it again eben tho i did finish bottom(wheres pete when you need him!) athough I must work on the latter stages has I seem to tail off!

    cheers steve!” – Graham S

Leave a Reply

